Librarians

Library Responsibilities
Amelia Clarkson Amelia Clarkson
Media Collections Librarian
a.clarkson@utoronto.ca
905-828-3883
Photo of David Gerstle David Gerstle
Reference & Instruction Librarian
david.gerstle@utoronto.ca
905-569-5729

Liaison Librarian for:
Astronomy
Biology
Chemistry
Earth Sciences
Master of Science in Biomedical Communications (MScBMC)
Master of Biotechnology (MBiotech)
Master of Occupational Therapy
Medicine
Physics

Paula Hannaford Paula Hannaford
Deputy Chief Librarian; Associate Librarian, Library & Learning Services
paula.hannaford@utoronto.ca
905-828-3888
Shelley Hawrychuk Shelley Hawrychuk
Chief Librarian
shelley.hawrychuk@utoronto.ca
905-828-5235
Simone Laughton Simone Laughton
Head, Library/Instructional Technologies
simone.laughton@utoronto.ca
905-569-4981

Quercus (Canvas) at UTM
Instructional Technologies

Mai Lu Mai Lu
Head, Public Services & Outreach (on secondment)
mai.lu@utoronto.ca
905-828-5238

Head, Reference & Research Services
Head, Information & Loans Services
Syllabus Service

Photo of Catherine MacGregor Catherine MacGregor
Finance Learning Centre (FLC) and Liaison Librarian
cat.macgregor@utoronto.ca
905-569-4654

Economics
Management
Master of Forensic Accounting (MFAcc)
Master of Management & Professional Accounting (MMPA)

Portrait of Rob Makinson Rob Makinson
Coordinator, Library Communications & Liaison Librarian
rob.makinson@utoronto.ca
905-607-7233

Institute for the Study of University Pedagogy
Library Communications

Portrait of Andrew Nicholson Andrew Nicholson
Coordinator, GIS & Research Data Services
andrew.nicholson@utoronto.ca
905-828-3886

Data (Geospatial)
Data (Humanities & Social Sciences)
Environmental Science
Geographic Information Systems (GIS)
Geography
Master of Science in Sustainability Management (MScSM)
Master of Urban Innovation (MUI)

Dany Savard
Associate Librarian, Collections & Research Services
dany.savard@utoronto.ca
905-828-5205
Mike Serafin Mike Serafin
Library Technologies & Liaison Librarian
mike.serafin@utoronto.ca
905-828-5232

Institute of Communication, Culture, Information and Technology
Mathematical and Computational Sciences
Statistics

Jessica Shiers Jessica Shiers
Research Services & Science Liaison Librarian (on leave)
jessica.hanley@utoronto.ca
905-828-3885

Liaison Librarian for:
Astronomy
Biology
Chemistry
Earth Sciences
Master of Science in Biomedical Communications (MScBMC)
Master of Biotechnology (MBiotech)
Master of Occupational Therapy
Medicine
Physics

On research leave August 1, 2022 - July 31, 2023. Please contact David Gerstle (david.gerstle@utoronto.ca) in my absence.

Harriet Sonne de Torrens Harriet Sonne de Torrens
Visual Resources & Liaison Librarian
harriet.sonne@utoronto.ca
905-569-4610

Liaison Librarian for: 
Art History
Cinema
Indigenous Art
Photography
Visual Resources & Studies

Portrait of Joanna Szurmak Joanna Szurmak
Interim Head, Public Services & Outreach
joanna.szurmak@utoronto.ca
905-828-3882

Anthropology
Forensics
Psychology 
Robotics

English Language & Literature
Language Studies
Philosophy

Yayo Umetsubo Yayo Umetsubo
Scholarly Communications & Liaison Librarian
yayo.umetsubo@utoronto.ca
905-569-4365

Copyright
Open Access
Research Data Management
Classical Civilization
History
History of Religions
Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies

Meaghan Valant Meaghan Valant
Assessment & Liaison Librarian
meaghan.valant@utoronto.ca
905-569-4521

Political Science
Sociology

Portrait of Nathan Wolfe Nathan Wolfe
Reference and Instruction Librarian
nathand.wolfe@utoronto.ca
905-828-5334
portrait of Chris Young Chris Young
Head, Collections & Digital Scholarship (on leave)
christopher.young@utoronto.ca
905-828-3884

Archives & Special Collections
Digital Scholarship
Open Journal Sytem (OJS) at UTM
TSpace at UTM